top of page

In the studio with JC Vocals.

I am currently working for JC VOCALS in the studio one to one with students of different ages, backgrounds and experience.

Not only do I love working one to one with my students but I love getting back to working in a studio. Nothing gets you more in a creative mood than singing and working in a studio.

One of the things that I have noticed with all my students both RRS students and JC students is that it's all about the confidence. A lot of the time the issues they think they have, they don't actually have and it's just about getting the confidence to do it. For example one student was worried about hitting a certain note and was convinced she couldn't hit it. I got her to sing the phrase again, then showed her that the note that followed the "note she couldn't hit" was a whole tone above! Which meant that it was well within her range but because of her lack of confidence/self belief she was anticipating and worrying about the note. Worrying/nerves means not supporting in the diaphragm and constricting your throat so that hitting high notes become difficult. Once I explained this and did a couple of exercises to help she flew past it and it wasn't an issue.

Never think you can't do something because you can! Once you start believing you can do it, it is easier for me to teach as half the battle is self belief. The rest like pitching, breathing, diaphragm work etc. can be taught and learned very easily.

I look forward to seeing my JC students and seeing them grow in the coming weeks.

If you're in the Crowborough area wanting to enquire about singing lessons then I teach at JC Vocals currently Thursdays & Fridays (Mondays also available depending on availability)

http://jcvocals.co.uk/singing-lessons/

bottom of page